PDCA Cycle

PDCA is a four-stage iterative approach for continually improving the processes by Walter A. Shewhart and Edward Deming. This is a 4 step management method for better control and continuous improvement.

P(lan) D(o) C(check) A(ct). i.e Continually Improving, in a Methodical Way

PDCA by Mindtools

The phases or steps of the PDCA cycle are linked together by results – the result of one step becomes the input to another.

  • Plan: identify and analyze the problem or opportunity, develop hypotheses about what the issues may be, and decide which one to test.
    • What is the core problem we need to solve?
    • What resources do we need?
    • What resources do we have?
    • What is the best solution for fixing the problem with the available resources?
    • In what conditions the plan will be considered successful? What are the goals?
  • Do: test the potential solution, ideally on a small scale, and measure the results.
  • Check/Study: study the result, measure effectiveness, and decide whether the hypothesis is supported or not.
  • Act: if the solution was successful, implement it.

It is also known as the Deming circle/cycle/wheel, the Shewhart cycle, the control circle/cycle, or plan–do–study–act (PDSA).

Further Readings

  1. Process groups
  2. Project Life Cycle vs Product Life Cycle vs Project Management Process Groups
  3. KanBanize.com

Don’t forget to join and subscribe,

Mudassir Iqbal, PMPMudassir Iqbal, PMPMudassir Iqbal, PMPMudassir Iqbal, PMPMudassir Iqbal, PMPMudassir Iqbal, PMP


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: